1/4

PRINCIPLE INVESTIGATOR

Dr. Liangbing (Bing) Hu

Professor, University of Maryland

Director, Center for Advanced Paper and Textiles

  • 2019-present

  • 2016-2019

Professor

Associate Professor

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Maryland Energy Innovation Institute (MEII) - University of Maryland

Department of Materials Science and Engineering & Energy Research Center - University of Maryland

  • 2011-2016

Assistant Professor

Department of Materials Science and Engineering & Energy Research Center - University of Maryland

  • 2009-2011

Postdoctoral Researcher

Department of Materials Science and Engineering - Stanford University

  • 2006-2009

Founding Research Scientist

Unidym Inc.

  • 2002-2007

Ph.D in Condensed Matter Physics

University of California, Los Angeles

  • 1997-2002

B.S. in Physics

University of Scienece and Technology of China

COORDINATOR

Annette B. Mateus

1206 Engineering Lab Building
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-2115


Phone: 301.405.4799

Email: amateus@umd.edu

Fax: 301.314.8514

POST DOCTORAL RESEARCHERS

Amy Gong

Research Associate

Ph.D. University of California, Riverside, 2011

Solid state hybrid batteries

amysgong@gmail.com

Chengwei Wang

Assistant Research Scientist

Ph.D. Arizona State University, 2015

 

Solid state batteries and nanoionic devices 

 

vcwang123@gmail.com

Yilin Wang

Assistant Research Scientist

Ph.D. Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2011

Two-dimensional materials

 

ylwang84@umd.edu

Kun (Kelvin) Fu

Assistant Research Scientist

Ph.D. North Carolina State University, 2014

Energy storage,wearable electronics, smart textiles 

 

fukun311@gmail.com

https://sites.google.com/site/kunfuumd/home 

Yubing Zhou

Research Associate

Ph.D. Peking University, 2016

Nanocellulose

 

ybzhou5220@gmail.com

Shaomao Xu

Research Associate

Ph.D. Cornell University, 2016

Solid state battery systems

 

xushaomao@gmail.com

Chun-peng Yang

Research Associate

Ph.D. Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences

 

Energy storage

 

cpyang89@gmail.com

Tian Li

Research Associate

Ph.D. University of Maryland, College Park, 2015

 

Nanomaterials for energy and flexible electronics

 

mytian1211@gmail.com

Personal website

Chaoji Chen

Research Associate

Ph.D. Huazhong University of Science and Technology

chen_chaoji@aliyun.com

Alexandra Brozena

Postdoc/ Scientist

Ph.D. in Chemistry, University of Maryland, 2013

Carbon nanomaterials, Atomic layer deposition, Science writing

abrozena@gmail.com

Shuaiming He

Research Associate

Ph.D candidate at South China University of Technology

 

Nature-inspired advanced materials  

he.shuaiming@gmail.com 

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Jiaqi Dai

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, 2013

Solid-state energy storage and scientific visualizations

jiaqi@umd.edu

www.jiaqidai.me

Steven Lacey

B.S., M.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland College Park, 2014, 2017

Low Dimensional Materials, Energy Storage, Additive Manufacturing, High Temperature Synthesis, Nanomanufacturing 

slacey@terpmail.umd.edu

view google scholar

Emily Hitz

B.S. Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland College Park, 2015

Energy storage

 

ehitz@umd.edu

WechatIMG175.jpeg

Yonggang Yao

B.S., M.S. Xi'an Jiaotong University

High Temperature Nanomanufacturing 

yaoyg@umd.edu

Personal website

 

Glenn Pastel

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, 2014

Flexible battery architectures and solid-state electrolyte

pastelgr@umd.edu

Marcus Carter

B.S. Frostburg State College

Nanomaterials

carter.marcus.j@gmail.com 

Hua Xie

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University, 2011

M.S. Materials Science and Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University, 2014

Diplôme d'Ingénieur Français

Years’ working experience in industry (Volkswagen)

 

Ceramics, energy storage and High-energy nanomanufacturing

xiehua@umd.edu

Boyang Liu

B.E. Optical Electronic Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, 2014

Energy storage

bliu2014@umd.edu

Douglas Henderson

B.E. Mechanical Engineering, University of Virginia, 2013

Energy and nanomaterials

 

doug.henderson14@gmail.com

Yanbin Wang

M.E. Materials Science and Engineering, 2016

2D materials and nano mechanics

 

ywang166@umd.edu

Iain Kierzewski

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, 2011

Alan Murphy

Master student

 

University of Maryland, College Park 

 

Dylan Kirsch

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, 2018

Energy storage

djkirsch@umd.edu

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Spencer Kronthal

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park

 

3D printing 

 

skront1@terpmail.umd.edu 

Evan Winter 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park

 

3D printing 

 

evanwinter31@gmail.com 

Nick Williams 

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park

 

High temperature roll-to-roll setup 

 

nick.a.williams@gmail.com